It only takes a minute to sign up. Connect and share knowledge within a single location that is structured and easy to search. What happens if discarding one or more cards during the discard phase triggers an effect that draws me cards?
The instance I have in mind is having The Gitrog Monster on the battlefield and more than seven cards in hand at the end of the turn. What would happen when I discard one land card? Do I keep the card drawn or do I have to discard again? The Gitrog Monster's ability may trigger as a consequence of discarding land cards, so Normally, no player receives priority during the cleanup step, so no spells can be cast and no abilities can be activated. However, this rule is subject to the following exception:.
If so, those state-based actions are performed, then those triggered abilities are put on the stack, then the active player gets priority. Players may cast spells and activate abilities.
Once the stack is empty and all players pass in succession, another cleanup step begins. So there will be another cleanup step, where if your hand size exceeds 7 you again must discard cards in order to reduce it. If you still have too many after everyone passes, you'll be forced to discard back down to your hand size. Sign up to join this community. Normally, no player receives priority during the cleanup step, so no spells can be cast and no abilities can be activated.
However, this rule is subject to the following exception: If so, those state-based actions are performed, then those triggered abilities are put on the stack, then the active player gets priority. Players may cast spells and activate abilities. Once the stack is empty and all players pass in succession, another cleanup step begins. Wizards of the Coast. Comprehensive Rules. Game Concepts. Parts of a Card.
Turn Structure. Spells, Abilities, and Effects. Additional Rules. Multiplayer Rules. Categories Glossary Obsolete Turn structure Add category. Normally, during the cleanup step, no player gets priority to cast spells or activate abilities. However, since the player affected by Silence controlled The Gitrog Monster and had to discard cards during cleanup, one of which was a land, players got rounds of priority.
By that time, Silence had already ended and that player was allowed to cast spells. The Gitrog player discarded 3 cards here. One of them was a land Mana Confluence , so the Gitrog Monster ability triggered and was waiting to enter the stack.
Normally, no player receives priority during the cleanup step, so no spells can be cast and no abilities can be activated. However, this rule is subject to the following exception:. If so, those state-based actions are performed, then those triggered abilities are put on the stack, then the active player gets priority.
Players may cast spells and activate abilities. Once the stack is empty and all players pass in succession, another cleanup step begins. The Gitrog Monster's ability entered the stack here and players get rounds of priority, allowing everyone to cast spells. Because the triggers happen after point 2, "this turn" effects have ended and so Silence's effect no longer applies.
Comprehensive Rules :. Sign up to join this community. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top. Stack Overflow for Teams — Collaborate and share knowledge with a private group. Create a free Team What is Teams? Learn more.
0コメント